Imo state House of Assembly speaker, 7 other lawmakers defect to APC

Two weeks after the Supreme court annulled the election of Emeka Ihedioha as the governor of Imo state and affirmed APC’s Hope Uzodinma as the new governor, the Speaker of the Imo state House of Assembly, Collins Chiji, and seven other members of the state assembly have defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Chiji who was elected on the platform of the PDP, announced his defection during plenary today January 28th.

He gave the names of the other defecting lawmakers as Uche Ogbuagu (Ikeduru); Dominic Ezerioha (Oru West); Chigozie Nwaneri(Oru East); Kanayo Onyemaechi (Owerri West); Kennedy Ibe (Obowo)’; Onyemaechi Njoku (Ihitte/Uboma), and Eddy Obinna (Aboh Mbaise) who represented Emeka Ihedioha’s constituency in the Assembly.

Last week, the deputy Speaker of the state assembly, Okey Onyekamma, and eight other lawmakers defected to the APC.

Leave a comment Cancel reply